Shubh Hora

Know about Today’s Shubh Hora

In Vedic astrology, an hour of the day is known as ‘Hora’. The Hindu Vedic calendar has 24 horas, which start from sunrise to sunset. Each Hora has a duration of one hour and is governed by a specific planet. The effect of the hora can be beneficial or inimical depending on the planet ruling it. Horas are used to plan auspicious events and avoid disadvantageous times for unfavorable outcomes. Hora charts are created at the time of an infant’s birth or when fixing a time for an auspicious event. They help to identify strong and weak areas of one’s life.

arrow_left Hora Mahurat

To Know more about Choghadiya

What is Hora and its Significance?

What is the Meaning of Hora?

The term Hora is derived from the Sanskrit word Ahoratra, where “Aho” means day and “Ratra” means night. Interestingly, in Spanish, Hora also means time. In Vedic astrology, Hora refers to the duration between sunrise to the next sunrise. It holds great significance in astrology and is used to manage the Hora Chakra when no auspicious muhurta is available for a particular task. Hora Shastra is regarded as a reliable means to achieve success in work.

How do I Calculate Shubh Hora Muhurat?

Each day of the week is ruled by a particular planet, such as Sun-Sunday, Moon-Monday, Mars-Tuesday, Mercury-Wednesday, Jupiter-Thursday, Venus-Friday, and Saturn-Saturday. Each Hora, a unit of time equivalent to approximately one hour, is dedicated to one of these planets. There are seven Horas in total, namely Sun Hora, Venus Hora, Jupiter Hora, Moon Hora, Mercury Hora, Mars Hora, and Saturn Hora.

A day is divided into two main parts: Day Horai or Daytime (Din Maan), which starts from sunrise and ends at sunset, and Night Horai or Night Time (Ratri Maan), which begins at sunset and ends at sunrise. The duration of Day and Night varies depending on the exact timing of sunrise and sunset.

Each day is further divided into 12 equal parts, with 12 Horas in total during both day and night. The first Hora of each day corresponds to the planet ruling that day, and the second Hora corresponds to the planet ruling the sixth day from that day. The sequence then continues until the next sunrise, and the cycle repeats.

For instance, if today is Sunday, the first Hora will be ruled by the Sun, the second Hora by Venus, the third by Mercury, the fourth by the Moon, the fifth by Saturn, the sixth by Jupiter, and the seventh by Mars. This cycle will repeat until the next day’s sunrise.

You can simply use AstroTreasure’s Shubh Hora Muhurta Calculator and get the details of auspicious time periods in your day.

What is the Importance of Shubh Hora?

The Hora is a crucial aspect of our daily life that can assist us in achieving our goals smoothly and effectively. Success in every work we do is desirable, and with the help of Hora, this can be made possible. The Hora muhurta is believed to ensure the accomplishment of every task with ease. Each of the seven planets rules over a specific Hora, which can provide favorable or unfavorable opportunities for individuals to achieve their aspirations.

The auspiciousness of a Hora is determined by its relationship with the corresponding planet. Therefore, it is recommended to plan our routine activities based on the Hora periods to increase the likelihood of success. Segregating work based on the appropriate Hora can make it easier to achieve the desired outcomes without facing any obstacles.

Which Hora is Suitable for me?​

Each of the 7 planetary Horas is suitable for different purposes:

For Government job applications, bidding or tendering, and taking up a good position at work, Sun Hora is favorable. Wearing Ruby gemstones during this period is recommended. It is also suitable for politics, elections, and government-related work.

Moon Hora is beneficial for almost all types of work. Pearl is the recommended gemstone during this period. Tasks related to sea, water, gardening, and silver can be performed during this Hora.

Tasks related to armed forces, police, judiciary, and administration can be done during Mars Hora. Wearing Coral or Cats Eye is recommended. Joining a new job, purchasing property, giving debt, or betting can also be performed during this period.

For business, commerce, and audit-related work, Mercury Hora is suitable. Emerald is the recommended gemstone during this period. Activities associated with banks, financial institutions, education, and recitation of mantras can also be carried out during this duration.

Tasks related to marriage, education, wisdom, meeting with high dignitaries, and purchasing clothes are considered favorable during the Jupiter Hora. It is suggested to wear Yellow Sapphire during this time. Additionally, you can also seek advice from or choose your teacher during this period.

For activities related to acting or modeling, music, purchase of ornaments, gold, and silver business, fine arts, romance, and other luxurious actions, Venus Hora is considered the most auspicious. Wearing Diamond, Opal, or new clothes is recommended during this period. You can also initiate traveling during Venus Hora.

The period of Saturn Hora is considered favorable for activities such as laying the foundation of a home or factory, engaging in farming, purchasing iron, machines, and automobiles, and undertaking oil-related activities. It is recommended to wear Blue Sapphire, Amethyst, or Hessonite gemstones during this time. One can also purchase land or initiate a factory during this period.

Other Services we provide

Marital Life

Kids & Education

Love & Relationships

Career & Jobs


Vedic Astrology

Frequently Asked Questions

The Vedic Astrology system proposes a time division known as Hora or Horai. This division includes different periods that are considered favorable and appropriate for various activities. The Horas are ruled by different planets, which determine whether they are auspicious or inauspicious.

The Hora that is recommended for applying for a job or career work is the Sun or Jupiter Hora. Shani (Saturn) Hora can also be considered for job applications.

The Venus or Shukra Hora is considered auspicious for engagements and proposals since it is governed by Venus.

The period of Surya hora is considered favorable for starting new positions in government, judicial matters, tasks requiring bravery and adventure, leadership work, father-related issues, and more.

Scroll to Top